Major Issues in TY21 Linkup

1) Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)

What is Vermont's law? Vermont EITC is 36% of the Federal EITC. Fully refundable.

What are the Federal changes?

- ARPA expands the EITC for individuals without children. For tax year 2021, the maximum credit for individuals without children increases from \$543 to \$1,402.
- Repeals the maximum age limit of 65
- Lowers the minimum age from 25 to 19.
- Maximum investment income threshold is increased from \$2,220 to \$10,000.
- Tax year 2019 income can be used for purposes in determining the EITC in tax year 2021.

Revenue Impact on Vermont with link up: -\$6.19 million in FY2022, -\$100,000 in FY2023

Information on other states:

- 28 states and DC have a state EITC, usually linked to Federal EITC
- At least 7 states have static conformity and an EITC
- No information on which states have "coupled" or "decoupled"

Static Conformity States and EITC			
Static	EITC?	Refundable?	Share of Federal
Maine	Yes	Yes	12%, except 25% for childless workers
Ohio	Yes	No	30%, but limited to 50% of tax liability if TI>\$20,000
West Vriginia	No		
Kentucky	No		
Indiana	Yes	Yes	9%
North Carolina	No		
South Carolina	Yes	No	62.50%
Georgia	No		
Iowa	Yes	Yes	15%
			4% for families with one child, 11% for families with two children, 34% for families
Wisconsin	Yes	Yes	with three or more
Idaho	No		
Oregon	Yes	Yes	9%

Source: Tax Policy Center

2) Child and Dependent Care Credit (CDCC)

What is Vermont's law? Vermont CDCC is nonrefundable and 24% of the Federal CDCC. Low-Income CDCC is 50%, with income thresholds.

What are the Federal changes?

- Makes the entire credit refundable Federally for tax year 2021.
- The credit is also expanded:
 - \$4000 maximum credit per qualifying individual and \$8000 for two or more individuals. Currently, the credit is \$2,100 for two or more individuals.
 - Calculated by taking 50% of qualifying expenses. Currently, it is between 20% and 35%
 - Maximum expenses taken into account are increased from \$3,000 for one child to \$8,000 and from \$6,000 for 2 or more children to \$16,000
- Increases income limits:
 - Current law is credit percentage is phased out by 1% for every \$2,000 above \$15,000 in AGI.
 - New law is 1% for every \$2,000 above \$125,000

Revenue Impact on Vermont with link up: -\$1.5 million in FY2022

Information on other states:

- 22 states and DC have a state CDCC, usually linked to Federal CDCC
 - Although many have separate income thresholds
- At least 7 states have static conformity and a CDCC
- No information on which states have "coupled" or "decoupled"

Prepared by Joint Fiscal Office April 20, 2021

Static Conformity States and CDCC				
Static	CDCC?	Refundable?	Share of Federal	
Georgia	Yes	No	30%	
Idaho	No			
Indiana	No			
lowa	Yes	Yes	Depends upon income. 75% if AGI<\$10,000, 30% if AGI<\$45,000 but greater than \$40,000	
Kentucky	Yes	No	20%	
Maine	Yes	Yes, up to \$500	25% normally, 50% if expenses are from a center with a "Quality Certificate"	
North Carolina	No			
Ohio	Yes	No	100% for incomes less than \$20,000. 25% under \$40,000. 0% after that	
Oregon	Yes	No	Depends upon income. Starts at 30% if FTI is less than \$5,000. Phases out to 0% by \$45,000	
South Carolina West Virginia	Yes No	No	No link to Federal. 7% of eligble expenses	

Source: Tax Credits for Working Families

3) Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loans

What is Vermont's law? H.315 picked up Federal tax-free treatment for TY2020 forgiven loans. For TY2021, H.315 set as a default that any loans forgiven after TY2020 would be considered taxable, but deductions would be permitted.

What are the Federal changes?

- CARES Act established the PPP and said a forgiven PPP loan would be tax-exempt.
- IRS from April through December ruled that expenses paid with PPP loans would not be deductible.
- HR133 explicitly made any PPP-paid expenses deductible.

Revenue Impact on Vermont: Link up to the Federal statute is assumed in the forecast. Therefore, if the Legislature links up, there is no revenue impact. If the Legislature decouples, \$9.77 million would be generated in FY2022, and \$1.25 million in FY2023.

Information on other states:

- 11 states either are statically conformed or have explicitly decided to tax PPP loans.
 - Explicit state actions
 - California (AB1577) disallows the deduction
 - Virginia: excludes PPP loans as tax, but decouples from expense deduction, allowing up to \$100,000 to be deducted.

Prepared by Joint Fiscal Office April 20, 2021

- Utah passed law confirming state tax-exempt status last year but hasn't taken up a bill to conform to deductibility.
- States that have passed bills in one chamber to exempt either the loan or allow deductibility: New Hampshire, Minnesota, Massachusetts, Florida.
- Recent actions either excluding income from tax or allowing expense deduction:
 - April: Ohio and Arizona pass laws conforming to Federal treatment of PPP loans.
 - March:
 - Idaho, Maine, Kentucky, Arkansas all conform to Federal treatment
 - Virginia enacts \$100,000 deduction.
 - February:
 - Georgia and West Virginia follow Federal treatment.

